This year I only did a cursory check on the S/S 2013 collections. Mostly, it was to see which trends would last beyond the F/W 2012 season: bright color blocking or mono-color (check); pointy toe high heels (check); feminine silhouettes a la Dior New Look (check); sixties revival (check).

This way, I can take advantage of end-of-season sales  knowing I will still be able to wear those pieces next spring and summer without looking (gasp!) demode. I think I’ve said this before but the trick is to pick “classic” pieces in terms of cut and silhouette. An A line skirt is an A line skirt whether it’s mint green, oxblood or plain black.  For vintage revival clothing, shop in your mother/grandmother’s closet or sites like ebay or etsy to find items that are back in fashion.

A quick scroll through etsy for example, yielded a lot of pieces reminiscent of the latest S/S 2013 Louis Vuitton collection. Maybe a little too “reminiscent”, ahem. Designers “inspire” themselves from past decades all the time so why not us mortals as well!

See for yourselves.

Louis Vuitton S/S 2013:

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 And the things I found on Etsy: 

 

 

