Tags

, , , ,


I know I am coming a bit late to the “body-chain” party. This trend has been showing up in various editorials and collections for a while now (see Alexander Wang/ Erin Wasson collaboration from 2008).

I’ve been thinking for a while about a specific type of body chain inspired by the rib-cage. (Side-note: I’ve been obsessing over the human skeleton form ever since the Chemical Brothers’ “Hey Boy Hey Girl” video.)

The human rib cage. (Source: Gray's Anatomy of...

Image via Wikipedia

Back to the chain – I looked at some options available for retail but did not find anything that worked within my budget. So, for about $40 worth of bulk chain I made this:

Of course you can’t just throw this on for everyday wear. It warrants a certain kind of outfit and styling which is why this kind of piece works better in editorials than in real life. This is what I’ve come up with:

(jacket: vintage; pants: JCrew; tuxedo shirt: vintage Turnbull&Asser; body chain: diy; chain sandals: Camilla Skovgaard)

